Toastmasters Historic Information

History Home - Narrative history of Toastmasters in NSW and ACT.

Historic Statistics

  • Annual statistics of District 70 growth and DCP achievement
  • Full history of Club formation and demise in NSW and ACT since the beginning
  • Archive of all educational achievements since 1995

Hall of Fame for District 70 up until reformation

For similar information since reformation, refer to the District 70 and District 90 websites.

For further information on any of the above, contact the District 90 Historian, .

Go to Toastmasters NSW/ACT home page

District 70 Hall of Fame - Leadership

Up until the time of the District 70/District 90 reformation


District 70 Governors and TCA Presidents


District Governor



2014/15 David Fisher Community Speakers  
2013/14 Joan Rinaldi Fairfield
2012/13 Jan Vecchio Northern Beaches
2011/12 Kaylene Ledgar Canberra Gourmet  
2010/11 Philip Bendeich Burwood a challenge to achieve
2009/10 Ian Chick Parramatta Delivering the Promise
2008/09 John Inglis Killara Discover your Potential
2007/08 Sue Haynes Miranda Respect  Responsibility  Rewards
2006/07 Nick Rinaldi Fairfield Leadership is Communication
2005/06 Cheryl Keane Engineers Sydney Plan and Succeed
2004/05 Reg Stewart Yaralla Toastmasters: Transforming Lives
2003/04 Donalda Hill Penrith City Be Proud, Stand Tall, Dare to Dream
2002/03 John Taylor Parramatta Toastmasters: Realising People's Potential
2001/02 Helene Buckman Campbelltown Together We All Achieve
2000/01 Karen Stacey Sydney Imagine the Possibilities
1999/00 Frank Higgins Springwood Make a Difference
1998/99 Tony Zammit Fairway Focus on the Mission
1997/98 Kevin Norton Gungahlin Fun to Achieve
1996/97 Lorna Fazldeen Ingleburn Elevate to Eloquence
1995/96 Brian Keane Emcees Committed to Excellence
1994/95 Pamella Vernon Able Spirited CADRE Foster the Spirit
1993/94 Lynda Parsons Campbelltown Enthusiasm Builds People
1992/93 David Heggart Port Hunter Let's Make It Happen
1991/92 Ward Penman Twilight Realise Your Potential
1990/91 Richard Stacey Sydney Take the Challenge
1989/90 Richard Stacey Sydney  
1989 Perce Williams Pennant Reach for the Stars
1988/89 Lorraine Corner Port Hunter Reap the Rewards
1987/88 Elizabeth Wilson Epping Care and Share
1986/87 John Keen Oatley RSL Give it a Go
1985/86 John Fairman Bankstown The Great Opportunity
1984/85 Geoff Kirkwood National Learning through Leadership
1983/84 Ted Mackness Cronulla Enjoy the Experience
1982/83 Gary Wilson Parramatta Quest for Quality
1981/82 Ken Rennie Parramatta Sharing Experience
1980/81 Geoff Henson Hills District  
1979/80 Peter Leney Deadline Belong, Participate, Succeed
1978/79 Chris Veitch Sea Eagles Fun, Fellowship & Education
1977/78 Ray Toyer Miranda RSL Serve and Grow
1976/77 Ron Green Wunderlich Industrial  
1975/76 Piers Foa Yarra Valley  
1974/75 George Bondzio Newcastle  
1973/74 David Murfet Launceston  
1972/73 Graeme Allen Miranda RSL  
1971/72 Tom Stubbs Sea Eagles  


TCA President


1970/71 Ray Toyer Miranda RSL  
1969/70 Ronald Ellis Miranda RSL  
1968/69 Walter Roberts Cronulla  
1967/68 Bob Watters Wunderlich Ltd.  
1966/67 Russ Walkington Bankstown  
1965/66 Russ Walkington Bankstown  
1964/65 Dallas York Miranda RSL  
1963/64 Terry MacGillycuddy North Shore  
1962/63 Don Duncan Sydney  
1961/62 Graham Morton Wollongong  
1960/61 Graham Morton Wollongong  
1959/60 Graham Morton Wollongong  

Back to Contents

District 70 Outstanding Leaders of the Year


Outstanding Toastmaster
of the Year

Outstanding Division Governor of the Year

Outstanding Area Governor of the Year

2015 Ward Penman Tanya Wickham Chin-Hwi Ang
2014 John Inglis Gail Heggie & Linda Said Ivan Koprivec
2013 Nick Rinaldi Anna Perdriau Trish Matthews
2012 Bob Kirchner Janelle Walker Anna Perdriau
2011 John Taylor David Fisher Iain Gorry
2010 Dianne Sammut Wendy White David Fisher
2009 Jan Vecchio Donna Pace Colin Davis
2008 Elizabeth Wilson Kaylene Ledgar Bronwyn MacRitchie
2007 Sebastian Sabater Rhonda Hookham David Moore
2006 Frank Higgins Philip Bendeich Maria Pantalone
2005 Pauline Shepherd Joan Rinaldi Robyn Peck
2004 Ruth Rinot Jim McNickle Cheryl White
2003 Narelle Langfield John Inglis Denise Tomlinson
2002 John Gibson Dianne Sammut Sandra Brown
2001 Brian Keane Margaret Wilson Sue Haynes
2000 Lorraine Barwick Kim Malcolm Mari-Ann Roberts
1999 Patti Bertram Helene Buckman Nicholas Rinaldi
1998 Ted Mackness John Gibson &
Margaret Hawrylciw
Judith Bush
1997 Robert Wright Colin Levy Joan Dennis
1996 Lorraine Corner Annette Roberts Tom Wilde
1995 David Heggart Patti Bertram &
Larry Slattery
Doug Morton
1994 Cheryl Keane Brenda Jones Patti Bertram
1993 Max Shean Frank Higgins David Grantham
1992 Mary Cook Dolores Garaty Joanne Gilchrist
1991 Eve Duckworth Val Bulluss Anne Warwick
1990 Dulcie Willmot   Val Bulluss
1989 Roy Ashpole   David Wellham
1988 John Fairman   Eve Duckworth
1987 Jill Westray   Simon Osborne
1986 Eric Augustesen &
Joy Augustesen
  Ron McDowell
1985 Ken Rennie   Lorraine Corner
1984 Brian Westray   Marjorie Seddon
1983 John Keen   Paul Jakobsen &
John Sleigh
1982 Ray Toyer   John Fairman
1981 (Not awarded)   (Not awarded)
1980 Ron Green   Carmel Power
1979 Gary Wilson   Brian Westray

Back to Contents