Toastmasters Historic Information

History Home - Narrative history of Toastmasters in NSW and ACT.

Historic Statistics

  • Annual statistics of District 70 growth and DCP achievement
  • Full history of Club formation and demise in NSW and ACT since the beginning
  • Archive of all educational achievements since 1995

Hall of Fame for District 70 up until reformation

For similar information since reformation, refer to the District 70 and District 90 websites.

For further information on any of the above, contact .

Go to Toastmasters NSW/ACT home page

District 70 Hall of Fame - Conference Venues and Awards

Up until the time of the District 70/District 90 reformation


District Conferences


Annual Conference Venue

Semi-Annual Conference Venue

2015 Bankstown District Sports Club  
2014 Bankstown District Sports Club Liverpool Catholic Club
2013 Bankstown District Sports Club Ettalong Beach War Memorial Club
2012 Bankstown District Sports Club Mount Panorama, Bathurst
2011 Bankstown District Sports Club Canberra Rex Hotel
2010 Bankstown District Sports Club Novotel Northbeach, Wollongong
2009 Bankstown District Sports Club Ettalong Beach War Memorial Club
2008 Penrith Panthers Club Campbelltown Catholic Club
2007 Bankstown District Sports Club Novotel Hotel, Olympic Park
2006 Novotel Northbeach, Wollongong Hunter Valley Gardens
2005 Rydges Lakeside, Canberra Novotel Brighton Beach
2004 Peppers Fairmont Resort, Leura Novotel Hotel, Olympic Park
2003 Bankstown District Sports Club Sunnybrook Hotel, Warwick Farm
2002 Campbelltown Catholic Club Millenium Hotel, Kings Cross
2001 Bankstown District Sports Club Park Royal Hotel, Parramatta
2000 Sunnybrook Hotel, Warwick Farm Central Coast Leagues Club
1999 Sunnybrook Hotel, Warwick Farm Penrith Panthers Club
1998 Rydges Hotel, Canberra Novotel Northbeach, Wollongong
1997 Sunnybrook Hotel, Warwick Farm Gazebo Hotel, Parramatta
1996 Campbelltown Catholic Club Newcastle Workers Club
1995 Penrith Panthers Club Hyatt Kingsgate Hotel, Kings Cross
1994 Gazebo Hotel, Kings Cross Sunnybrook Hotel, Warwick Farm
1993 Rooty Hill RSL Resort Sunnybrook Hotel, Warwick Farm
1992 Eagle Hawk Hill Resort, Canberra Central Coast Leagues Club
1991 Bankstown Town Hall Harold Park, Glebe
1990 Sunnybrook Hotel, Warwick Farm Windsor Function Centre
1989 Newcastle City Hall Canterbury Racecourse
1988 Hyatt Kingsgate Hotel, Kings Cross Leura Resort
1987 Northbeach Hotel, Wollongong Canterbury Racecourse
1986 Manly Pacific Hotel Salamander Resort
1985 Australian National University, Canberra Macquarie University
1984 Sydney Hilton Hotel Randwick Racecourse
1983 Sydney University Curzon Hall, Marsfield
1982 Newcastle City Hall Westmead Hospital
1981 Leura Gardens Bankstown District Sports Club
1980 Sydney Hilton Hotel Manly-Warringah Leagues Club
1979 Hyatt Kingsgate Hotel, Kings Cross Amory, Ashfield
1978 Park Royal, Canberra Phillip Lodge, Ashfield
1977 Hotel Florida, Terrigal Auburn Motor Inn
1976 Wentworth Hotel Phillip Lodge, Ashfield
1975 Mt. Gambier, SA Drummoyne
1974 Royal Motor Yacht Club, Newport Phillip Lodge, Ashfield
1973 Warburton Chalet, VIC Phillip Lodge, Ashfield
1972 Carrington Hotel, Katoomba Phillip Lodge, Ashfield
1971   Phillip Lodge, Ashfield

Territorial Council of Australia Conventions

1971 Surfers Paradise  
1970 Kings Cross  
1969 Hotel Manly  
1968 Newcastle  
1967 Launceston  
1966 Newport  
1965 Melbourne  
1964 Brampton Island  
1963 Sylvania  
1962 Bondi  
1961 Sydney  
1960 Wollongong  

Back to Contents

Special Awards, usually given at the Annual Conference

Communication and Leadership Award

Presented on behalf of Toastmasters International to a non-Toastmaster who has displayed outstanding communication and leadership skills in the community.

The "Jazzer Smith Award"

A commemorative award that is presented each year to a Toastmaster showing some of the attributes of Jazzer Smith, being courage to achieve and motivate others despite suffering great personal difficulties.

The "Tamworth Travel Gavel"

Presented by Tamworth Club in 1969 to recognise the Club with the greatest proportion of members travelling the greatest distance to the Conference.

Communication and
Leadership Award

"The Jazzer Smith Award"

"The Tamworth Travel Gavel"






2015 Geena Leigh Rick Haynes
Elizabeth Wilson
2014 Rev. Bill Crews Colin Levy Dapto Canberra Gourmet
2013 Pat Daley Noal Annabel Blacktown City North West Speakers & Leaders
2012 Her Excellency Governor Marie Bashir Stephen Hallinan Alpha Port Macquarie
2011 Adam Spencer Chris Hamilton Toronto Port Macquarie
2010 (Not awarded) Colin Wright Able Spirited CADRE Wagga Wagga
2009 Ron Lee Nina Marzi U3A Tamworth
2008 Ken Marslew Donalda Hill Penrith City Tamworth
2007 Pastor Ray Minniecon Kari Longinotto Holroyd Tamworth
2006 Father Chris Riley Brad Ireland National Western Gourmet
2005 Nancy Bird Walton "Phinney" Herden Gunnedah Bellingen and District
2004 Ian Badham Maria Gesler Mt. Pritchard New England
2003 Gabi Hollows Joan Dennis Illawarra Tamworth
2002 John Howard George Donnelly
Laurie McDonald
Coffs Harbour
Port Macquarie
2001 (Not awarded) Mark Skilling Burwood Port Macquarie
2000 (Not awarded) Andrew Garven National Gungahlin Jumbanna
1999 Janine Shepherd Murray Smith Nowra New England
1998 Doug Malouf Judith Woodgate Tamworth Waratah
1997 Ian Kiernan Jack Bacchus U3A City of Light
1996 Candy Tymson Tom & Eve Duckworth Sydney Coastal Capers
1995 Fay Lo Po Bro. James Hamilton Engadine Coastal Capers
1994 Amanda Gore Dolores Garaty Charlestown Tamworth
1993 (Not awarded) Ada Emerson Able Spirited CADRE Tamworth
1992 Sir James Hardy Donald Jenkins Harbourview Tamworth
1991 (Not awarded) Patrick Downie Western Suburbs Tamworth
1990 Doug Malouf Greg Emerson Able Spirited CADRE Tamworth
1989 Alan Pease Doug Spinks Hawkesbury Valley & Smooth Speech Queanbeyan
1988 Ron Tacchi Alan Mears Cronulla Quirindi
1987 Not awarded)     Gunnedah
1986 Dr. Gordon Moyes   Tamworth
1985 Ita Buttrose     Bennelong
1984 John Laws   Benjamin
1983 Sir Hermann Black   Tamworth
1982 (Not awarded)     Belconnen
1981 (Not awarded)     Canberra City
1980 (Not awarded)     Woden Valley
1979 Caroline Jones     Cobar
1978       Cobar
1977       Henry Parkes
1976       Banyandah, WA
1975       Oatley RSL, NSW
1974       Mt. Gambier, SA
1973       Miranda RSL, NSW
1972       Yarra Valley, VIC
1971       Karingal, NSW
1970 Tasmanian, TAS
1969       Cairns, QLD

Back to Contents